top of page

Diga

For Time: Finished in 2:10:39


  • 10,000 meter Run - 69:46

  • Rest 4 minutes Then, complete:

  • 5,000 meter Run - 36:13

  • 100 Burpee Pull-Ups

**********************************

My 300th Hero WOD! I wanted it to be epic and it was! My options were limited because I am still healing up my wrist/hand so although my body wasn't necessarily ready to run 9 miles, I decided to do it. In order to get through the mileage and try to decrease my chances of getting an exercise migraine I chose to do intervals. I would run for about 1:30 - 2:00 and then walk for 1:00. My heart rate would get to about 158-160 on the runs and as long as my heart rate got under 130 during my walk minute I would run again. I only had a couple of times when I needed an extra :30 of walking to get my heart rate down. I would run from 6.8 to 7.0 and walk at 3.0. During the 4:00 rest, I had a bathroom break and a snack and walked for about 3:00 into my 5000 meter run finishing my snack and getting in more fluids. That 5000 meter run felt pretty good! The burpee pull-ups felt way better than I expected. I used the lowest bar with a mat underneath to minimize the pull and pressure on my wrist and that worked great. Incredibly happy and honored to do this workout and to have honored 300 other heroes as well.

**********************************

Background: This workout is dedicated to Italian soldier Carlo Di Gaetani who lost his life during a foreign mission in Lebanon in April 2019.


Carlo designed the workout himself while he was abroad during the mission. He would go for a run and take 4 minutes rest to hydrate and observe the landscape around him, hence, the pattern of the workout. Then, he would continue with his run and perform 100 Burpee Pull-Ups.


The workout was submitted by his dear friend, Alessio Lugara. His home gym, CrossFit Peitralata @crossfitpietralata (Rome, Italy) tested the workout for the first time in 2020. 




bottom of page