top of page

War Frank


3 Rounds For Time: Finished in 1:03:08

  • 25 Muscle-Ups

  • 100 Air Squats

  • 35 GHD Sit-Ups

I have wanted to do this workout for a very very long time. I did it once with reduced number muscle ups - probably - 5 years ago.

I knew this was going to take me a while but I really wanted to do the whole thing.

A couple things were really important. One, taking care of my shoulder on the muscle ups. I chose to stand on boxes so that I could get a perfect grip and perfect swing to minimize strange swinging movements on my shoulder. Two, taking care of my hands. I typically rip near my wrists on muscle ups from my false grip so I always wear some tape on my wrists. That was all I needed the whole time on my left hand. I already had to tape the rip I got yesterday (it wasn't bad but tender) on my right hand and eventually needed more. I also eventually used my grips, which I don't usually use on ring muscle ups, and that helped a LOT! With about 5 reps to go I ripped on the side of my hand but quickly taped that up so I could finish! I also don't typically do GHD sit-ups because I get some sciatic pain on my left side. SO - I just did them slowly. All squats were unbroken though so that was good! :D Anyway, I am VERY proud to have done this and VERY honored...

**********************************

Captain Warren A. Frank, 26, of Cincinnati, OH, died November 25, 2008 while supporting combat operations in Ninewa province, Iraq. He was assigned to the 5th Air Naval Gunfire Liaision Company, III Marine Expeditionary Force, Okinawa, Japan. He is survived by his wife, Allison, and daughters Sophia, Lynn, and Isabella Grace. "War Frank" was first posted on crossfit.com as the workout of the day for 2010/03/01.

bottom of page