top of page

Hidalgo


For Time: (69:21) Redo - 4/28/19 (60:13)

Second Redo - 11/20/19 (57:48)


  • 2 Mile Run - 22:36 - 19:05 - 19:43

  • 2 Minutes Rest

  • 20 Squat Cleans (135/95 lbs)

  • 20 Box Jumps (20 in)

  • 20 Overhead Walking Lunges (45/35 lb plate)

  • 20 Box Jumps (20 in)

  • 20 Squat Cleans (135/95 lbs)

  • 2 Minutes Rest

  • 2 Mile Run - 23:00 - 21:17 - 19:20

If you’ve got a 20 pound vest or body armor, wear it. So, I actually wore my 30# weight vest for this entire workout. It was... amazing! I wasn't sure how the squat cleans were going to go in the vest but they actually weren't bad (I'll post a video in a little bit...). They were heavy - 125# being 85% of my max - but aren't I always saying I need to work on them?! :D And I also went ahead and used the 45# plate for the overhead lunges since we didn't have a 35#. That was rough on my shoulder but I got through it okay...

Was truly honored doing this workout for this Hero. <3 Again - I wore my 30# vest for this entire workout... So so tough. The squat cleans especially were the toughest part beside the last 2 miles. I am so proud to PR this by more than 9 minutes!

This was day 20 of my 30for30 Heroes Challenge so I decided not to wear my 30# vest and went with the 20#. I am so glad I did... it was perfectly difficult.

The runs felt great. The box jumps felt great and even the lunges were okay. The squat cleans... well, the first 8-10 were okay but then I really started to feel the deep fatigue in my legs. Then, it was just a couple at a time. BUT, definitely easier than with the 30# vest so, I was thankful for that! ​**************************************** U.S. Army First Lieutenant Daren M. Hidalgo, 24, of Waukesha, WI, assigned to 3rd Squadron, 2nd Stryker Cavalry Regiment, based in Vilseck, Germany, died on February 20, 2011, in Kandahar province, Afghanistan, from wounds suffered when insurgents attacked his unit with an improvised explosive device. Two weeks prior to his death, he was hit by an earlier improvised explosive device. Despite his injuries, he stayed in country and on patrols rather than return home. He is survived by his father Jorge, mother Andrea, brothers Miles and Jared, and sister Carmen.

bottom of page